Sessions Judge

Additional Sessions Judges


Delhi is one Sessions District and there is only one Sessions Judge. All the Additional Sessions Judges are empowered to exercise the powers of the Sessions Judge except to assign the cases. As per Law matters where the minimum punishment is above three years those cases are to be tried by Sessions Courts.


Appeals and revisions against orders passed by the Magistrates are also heard by the Sessions Judges. Bail Applications are also filed in Sessions Courts. Filing can be done at the filing counters in Tis Hazari Courts for matters pertaining to North, and Central Districts. For East and Northeast districts, filing is accepted at filing counters in Karkardooma Courts Complex and for New Delhi and South it is possible at filing counters of Patiala House Courts and Southwest districts filing is possible at filing counters of Dwarka Court Complex.  Filing for West, Northwest districts can be done at filing counters of Rohini Courts.



Courts of Additional Sessions Judges are situated in the Court Complexes at Tis Hazari, Karkardooma, Patiala House, Rohini and Dwarka. There are some special Courts like Central Bureau of Investigation Court, Narcotics, Drugs  & Psychopathic Substances Act Courts and Mahila Courts etc., which deal with cases related to a specific branch of Law.



2. Chief Metropolitan Magistrate / Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrates


Chief Metropolitan Magistrate is the Judge In-charge of the Courts of Metropolitan Magistrates. He exercise powers on the administrative side as well as holds Special Court of Central Bureau of Investigation.



In Karkardooma and Patiala House Courts, the Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrates exercise delegated powers of the Chief Metropolitan Magistrate in respect of Magistrates posted there.




3. Metropolitan Magistrates



Magistrates try criminal cases where punishment is upto three years. The Courts of Metropolitan Magistrates are assigned police station wise. The Metropolitan Magistrates are holding their courts in three court complexes i.e., Tis Hazari, Karkardooma and Patiala House. Criminal Complaints can be filed in the Court of Chief Metropolitan Magistrate at Room No.32, Tis Hazari Courts in respect of North, Northwest, Central and West districts.



In Patiala House Courts criminal complaints are accepted in the Court of Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate pertaining to South, Southwest and Central districts.



The Court of Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate at Karkardooma Courts Complex receives the criminal complaints for East and Northeast districts.



As far as complaints relating to West and North-West districts are concerned they are being received at Rohini Court Complex